Geri Ann

My journey of re-creating myself

Painting on Silk and Doodling

My first painted silk

My first painted silk

Finally tried my hand at painting on silk with a resist.  Since my Gutta resist hasn’t arrived yet from Dharma Trading (my fault, not their’s) and I have so many things I want to do and try, I decided to use what I had on hand — Elmer’s School Glue.  Now I have never tried this technique before, but I think the glue acted as a pretty good resist overall.

I stretched a 1/4 yd of silk on my frames and I laid a copy of the fish graphic under the silk.  Then I traced the graphic with the glue, added some swirls and dots, signed in (in glue) and let it dry for a day.  Then I mixed up my Procion dyes with a 1/2 cup of chemical water, and started painting.  I tried to blend some of the colors on the fabric, rather than relying solely on the colors I mixed.  I let the fabric sit (covered in plastic wrap) for about 2 hours and rinsed, trying to make sure I got all of the glue off.

All-in-all…I’m pretty happy with my little fish design.  Think I’ll quilt it into a little wall-hanging.

My other current project has been doodling.  Now most people see this just as the ultimate time-waster.  But this couldn’t be doodle2-cropany further from the truth.  While surfing the net…I ran across a very interesting website:  www.zentangle.com.  There I found some of the coolest artwork I had seen.  Artwork that anyone could create.  So off I went, doodling my little heart out.  What I noticed, while looking at various doodles, was that, in addition to being a great right-brain exercise, many of the fills were very similar to free-motion fills in quilting.  AHA!  I’m currently teaching a series of free-motion quilting at Susan Marie’s (a Bernina dealer in Palos Heights, IL).  Learning to free-motion quilt really just takes practice, and a few pointers.  But one big practice technique I have been stressing is for the students to practice drawing their designs on paper before even trying it on the machine.  I could see where this

Can you see familar quilt fills?

Can you see familiar quilt fills?

doodling can tie in very nicely – not only does it give you a chance to try out some new design fills, it gets your creativity flowing and you are producing some pretty cool pics in the meantime!  Another WIN-WIN.  Here’s some of the doodles I recently drew, notice patterns that are similar to quilt fills?

Get some white paper and some extra-fine tip Sharpies, and create!

Peace

March 30, 2009 - Posted by | Art Quilts, Classes I'm Teaching, Doodles, dyeing, Fabric Dyeing, Quilting, Silk, Susan Marie's, Teaching, Zentangle | , , , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Geri,
    Love the fish and the doodling! Do you see any pictures in the doodles? It looks like a brain in the first one and old mother hubbards shoe in the second one. Hubby said they are great, you should think about being a tatoo artist.

    Comment by Linda | April 1, 2009 | Reply

  2. Nice zentangles! I’ve only done one so far but I want to do more. very calming.
    Revelle

    Comment by Revelle | July 28, 2009 | Reply

  3. My husband and I are opening a restaurant in Cincinnati, Oh called “The Painted Fish” and we saw your batik image and was wondering if we can purchase a copyright privilige to use your image on business cards, menus and other email based advertising? Thanks for your input,

    Catarina Kirby

    Comment by Catarina Kirby | May 12, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

