Geri Ann

My journey of re-creating myself

My First Painting

painting-with-neutralsHaving enrolled in the WaterColor Journaling class at Artists of the Round Table (A.R.T.).  I finally have completed my first painting, practicing with neutral colors.  This is a wonderful program that the ladies at A.R.T. have put together.  They provide free classes in varicolor-wheel1ous art forms, such as watercolor journaling, ATC’s, and much more.  They really put a lot into these classes and really seem to enjoy what they do.  Definitely a very generous and warm group!  Be sure to check them out!

So, after months of only creating color wheels and color charts, I finally have a picture to show from it.  Not too bad for my first painting…but definitely room for improvement.

My latest color chart is to the left.  I highly recommend making color charts – you’ll learn so much by taking the time to mix the different colors…can’t make too many of these!

Peace

April 27, 2009 - Posted by | Art, Color Theory, Completed Projects, Water Color | , ,

7 Comments »

  1. Very nice. Watercolors aren’t as easy as some are lead to believe. The main thing I have learned is not to over work the painting. Put the paint on the paper, work it as little as possible and then move on, it keeps the painting clean and fresh. Good luck and have fun.

    Comment by asmalltowndad | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  2. I can’t believe this is your first painting! I like it very much. I just tried my first watercolor too and I posted it on my blog although I do not like it at all, in the hope that the progress in future paintings will astound. I think that I committed the error asmalltowndad talked about – overworking. This is how we learn though. Good luck. You are off to a great start.

    Comment by Dan Kent | April 27, 2009 | Reply

  3. I think your painting is wonderful. Making all those colour charts obviously paid off! I’d happily hang that on my wall.

    I love your doodles in the post below, too 🙂

    Comment by angeltreats | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  4. A.R.T. sounds like a great class. Your watercolor is nicely done and doesn’t look like newbie work to me. I agree with angeltreats, if it was mine I’d hang it up:)

    Comment by carolottaway | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  5. Wow, you’re off to a great start.

    Comment by Florence | April 28, 2009 | Reply

  6. Thank you, everyone, for all of the positive feedback and inspiration! I can’t tell you how much that means to me!
    Geri Ann

    Comment by Geri Ann | April 29, 2009 | Reply

  7. It’s really nice and beautiful :D. I’ve recently taken art class too and it’s just the beginning for me :P. Can’t believe that’s your first painting :D. Brilliant ^_________^. Btw, I’ve just started with color wheels. It’s very fascinating to mix and create different colors 😀

    Comment by Mitari Enteh | August 25, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

