Geri Ann

My journey of re-creating myself

Doodle (Zentangle) With Color

colored-doodle

Doodle with watercolor pencils

I was playing with my Prismacolor Water Color Pencils last night.  These things are beautiful. After making various swatches of the various colors, I wanted to draw something.  It was late, and I couldn’t come up with any ideas…so I doodled!  Then I colored in the doodle with the pencils, overlaying yellow and red to make orange…and blue and red to get the purples.  Basically, just mixing the colors on the paper.  Then, using my small waterbrush (another great invention), I started wetting the colored areas of the drawing.

Here is what I came up with.  It definitely showed me some of the possibilities I could have with actual sketches.  Pretty exciting! And much easier and faster to use than my tubes of watercolors.  I tried to just use mostly primary colors to test the mixing capabilities on the paper.

Let me know what you think…I’d love to see any work you’ve done with these types of pencils!

Peace

May 7, 2009 - Posted by | Art, Doodles, Water Color, Zentangle | , , ,

3 Comments »

  1. What a productive way of testing out the colors. I like your zentangles ^^ I could see some Oysters, Shells, Flowers, an eye, slices of oranges, tongue cells(yeah..my imagination), fibre under microscope,… 🙂 I really can go on forever. It’s just really imaginative!

    Comment by Alex Tan | May 7, 2009 | Reply

  2. Glad to see you’ve discovered waterbrushes – they’re so versatile. I love watercolour pencils too. And your doodle is fun!

    Comment by Aveen | May 7, 2009 | Reply

  3. Check out my blog at the url I added for you-I do the Zentangles with watercolour accents also!

    Comment by Laura Thykeson | September 11, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

