Geri Ann

My journey of re-creating myself

Virtual Sketch Date (VSD) In May

0905 VSD - Rhoden copy I surprised myself with this little drawing.  A little too late to submit to Virtual Sketch Date (I mistakenly wrote May on the page, it’s actually April’s), but it has me geared up and impatiently waiting for this month’s picture. This photo for reference is supplied by Jeanette Jobson.  Be sure to check out this inspirational site, if you haven’t already:  Virtual Sketch Date.  It’s very interesting to see different people’s interpretation of the same photo.

I started off with a light sketch in pencil…everything else was pretty much done backwards…then I colored in the flower and leaves with my new watercolor pencils, drew the lines with my Micron Pen, then wrote my journal notes, and finally applied a watercolor wash.  Still, I’m much happier with it than I expected to be.

Peace

May 7, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

5 Comments »

  1. So, Glad you joined in. Welcome aboard. I love the color. Wonderful color. Love the technique.

    Sherrie

    Comment by Sherrie Roberts | May 7, 2009 | Reply

  2. Good job! I remember the picture of VSD April very well, and I think your version is very bright and lively 🙂

    Comment by Alex Tan | May 7, 2009 | Reply

  3. Cheery.

    Comment by Owen | May 8, 2009 | Reply

  4. Yum. Lovely rich colour!

    Comment by Susan | May 8, 2009 | Reply

  5. backwards seemed to work very well for you! Love the rich colours and the background wash.

    Comment by Lindart | May 9, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

