Geri Ann

My journey of re-creating myself

Diving into the (water) Colors!

I’m getting a little more into painting than I had originally planned.  My intent was to get a few watercolor classes under my belt.  Mostly so I could keep a watercolor journal.  But I find myself diving deeper and deeper into the beautiful waters!  I find it so relaxing playing with colors, whether fabrics, dyes or paints.  I’m also seeing how the bits I learn in one area, carry over into the others.  For example, starting off with a basic color theory class with the incredibly inspirational, Judy Perez, has been the catalyst for me to feel more comfortable when mixing dyes, paints and even fabrics. (Thanks, Judy!  Your classes have been fun, inspiring and so rewarding!)

Here are photos of some of my first pieces:

first painting in Carmen's Classcat painting cropped

The flower was my first piece done in a watercolor class at the La Grange Art League.  I painted the cat while following a tutorial on Wet Canvas – TONS of info on that sight for ALL types of artists…a wonderful community of very generous artists…a DEFINITE must see!!

Who knows where tomorrow will take me!  I’ve no clue…all this started with a little Color Theory Class! :

Peace,

Geri Ann

July 10, 2009 Posted by | Art, Judy Perez, Water Color, watercolor | , | 6 Comments